RSS Feed

Stephanie Izard’s Mixed Mushroom Ragout

Posted on

I saw this recipe in the latest issue of Food & Wine, and I have been meaning to make it for the better part of two weeks. Of course, I was far too busy freaking out to do any cooking last week, so we ate out way too much. Now that the pressure is off and I’ve realized I don’t have to study again for quite some time, I was free to cook this evening.

I had leftover organic chicken breasts in the freezer, so that’s what I paired the ragout with, but the serving suggestions include fish, scallops, and pasta, so I think this is one of those recipes that can be reinvented depending on what you serve it with. The real reason I felt drawn to this recipe (other than my love of mushrooms) is how many different flavors it had! Coconut milk, with mushrooms, capers, miso, and raisins? I had to try it. The ragout was easy to make and didn’t require a ton of prep work, which is always nice.

Oh, and made with veg stock like I did, this ragout is vegan too! I kept telling Brent how interesting it tasted while we were eating, which I know does not sound like a ringing endorsement, but I really did like it. I’ve just never quite tasted anything like that with all those flavors. I definitely recommend trying it if you’re a mushroom fan. I halved the recipe and we got 3-4 servings of the ragout, so I’m planning on having some over pasta for lunch tomorrow.

Does anyone else’s dog do this?

Lucy does this several times a day and just stares at me with her goofy upside down face.

The job hunt begins tomorrow!

One response »

  1. That does sound . . . interesting! I’m glad you liked it!

    My cat does that . . . don’t know what it means, though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

