RSS Feed

A Taste of Home

Posted on

I love Chicago. I mean, I’m falling in love with Seattle now, but I will always love Chicago. One thing I love about Chicago is deep dish pizza. I understand there is controversy about pizza variations, but I’m thankful I’m from Chicago and grew up loving deep dish. My husband did not. He’s kind of offended by it. It’s not that he hates it, but it’s that he very much share’s Anthony Bourdain’s opinion on the subject: “It may be tasty but it is most definitely not pizza.” False. It’s pizza. More than that, it’s the best kind of pizza. And I seriously love it.

I eat Lou Malnati’s spinach deep dish nearly every time I go home, but that’s probably going to be happening a whole lot less now that I live 2000+ miles away. The obvious solution is to find amazing and delicious pizza here in Seattle, but you would be surprised how difficult that is. We’ve tried a few super highly rated pizza places around here and been decidedly underwhelmed by everything we’ve encountered there.

We were in luck on Saturday, however, because we made our way to a new neighborhood. We were in Fremont enjoying some beer at Fremont Brewing (amazing beer, by the way), and when it came time for dinner, we turned to Yelp and searched by nearby restaurants. As luck should have it, Kylie’s Chicago Pizza was a few blocks away. I was excited to try it, but also a bit hesitant. I don’t know who Kylie is, and didn’t know what credentials she had to be claiming to make real Chicago pizza in a funky neighborhood in Seattle. But the possibility had to be explored.

What I found was not my all-time favorite pizza. That title will always belong to Lou’s spinach, but I was pleasantly surprised to find more than a decent facsimile in my new city. 🙂 We started with a green salad, which we ordered more to take up the time while we waited the half hour for our pizza to be ready.

For the main event, we went with the Chicago Classic, with sausage, peppers, onions, and mushrooms. I was judging this pizza pretty harshly as we were eating. It was bound to happen, given my passion for authentic deep dish. The tomatoes weren’t fresh like Lou’s. The mushrooms were the canned variety (a true pizza horror), and I much prefer Lou’s flaky crust. Even with all that though, the pizza was delicious.

It may not be Lou’s, but it’s the best I’ve had on the west coast, and it will make a perfect location to return to when I’m feeling a bit homesick.

Oh, and you know what the best part of any deep dish is? The leftovers. It reheats way better than any other type of pizza! I got to enjoy this meal two days in a row. 🙂

Question: Do you have any fierce food loyalties?

2 responses »

  1. Lou Malnati’s pizza is pretty much God’s greatest food invention. Nothing can possibly compare. I grew up in Chicago, too (suburb) and now live in Madison, WI. Whenever I go home, there are always 2 stops: Portillos and Lou’s. 🙂

    When I lived in Atlanta, my mom used to ship it to me. You can order on their website and they’ll send it on dry ice. Not exactly cost-effective, but if you’re ever truly craving it. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yeah, I’ve seen that about Lou’s. I can never quite justify the cost, and I kind of think knowing it’s something I can only get when I’m home magnifies the appeal and nostalgia factor for me.

    My husband always says I don’t love Lou’s because it’s the best pizza, I just love it because it was my favorite thing ever when I was 10 years old. He might be right, but I’m ok with that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

