RSS Feed

Guest Post: Valentine’s Day Dinner 2011

Guest post from Victoria’s husband, Brent:

As documented in the past, I cook Victoria dinner on Valentine’s Day. Recently, she has begun forcing me to blog about it as well.

We recently ate at the Palace Kitchen, and Victoria had a blood orange margarita she really enjoyed, so I made her one as an apéritif. This was just lime juice, fresh-squeezed blood orange juice, agave syrup, and tequila.

The first course was a white salad with apple, fennel, and celery root with a crème fraiche dressing. Apparently this recipe came from a “Mommy Blog.” This wasn’t a genre I was familiar with until Victoria, having seen the tab open on my computer, asked me accusingly: “Are you reading a mommy blog!?” Apparently childless men aren’t the target the target demo.

The second course was a lobster pot pie. I didn’t use Pernod, because it was like $30 a bottle, and I didn’t make my own crust because that is hard. Victoria’s only complaint was that there wasn’t enough lobster. A woman of simple tastes, huh?

Beats an overcrowded, overpriced prix fixe menu. See you next year, blogonauts.

2 responses »

  1. Lovely. I love that she ‘forces’ you to post. This is incredibly sweet and looks so yummy. I took love cooking at home for V-Day. I agree that it beats overcrowed restaurant (and incessant PDA’ing) and usually gives me a chance to make something a little fancier than my everyday fair. You’re a great hubby!

    Reply
  2. You are welcome to read my blog any time. I welcome all. Even non-moms.:)
    Looks like a wonderful dinner! And, I’ll take one of those cocktails please.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

