RSS Feed

Things to Keep in Mind

Job hunting is hard. If you’re an adult, you probably don’t need me to tell you this. Job hunting in a recession is harder. Job hunting in a recession when you have no experience in your field and have moved yourself across the country away from your entire network of friends and family is downright miserable. Miserable.

I’m prone to being a drama queen so I’ve been all, “Woe to me. My education is Useless. Useless!! I’ll never find a job! Woe.” Yeah, to say Brent has been a trooper is an understatement. Obviously this behavior is extremely unacceptable for the long term, and as such I’ve been trying to reverse any funk I may or may not be in. This unfunkifying requires daily work.

I’m still kind of funky, so clearly I haven’t mastered the art of getting all zen with my situation. What I have done is amassed a list of things that do not help when faced with this type of situation.

Do Not Do This:

  • Drink copious amounts of wine
  • Tell your husband how hard your life is. Everyday
  • Read message boards about the doomed state of your profession
  • Flop yourself on the couch and declare that you’re too depressed to move
  • Avoid all contact with the outside world and possibly general hygiene

So the above strategies obviously did not work out for me, so I’m trying some new tactics.

These Might Help:

  • Volunteering (with Girls on the Run of Puget Sound)
  • Copious amounts of yoga
  • Use free time to for awesome kitchen projects and
  • Maybe some DIY home projects too
  • Remind yourself how much you have to be thankful for

What do you do when you find yourself getting down for an extended period of time?

3 responses »

  1. The ice cream therapy plan seems to be helping my situtation slightly these days . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Siiigh I hate job searching, under every circumstance you listed ๐Ÿ˜‰ I read book after book after book and pretend I’m living the life of a different character of course! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. I will admit that it’s hard once I get myself into a funk because sometimes the emotions have a tendency to snowball. However, I do think some of the things you’re doing in the meantime sound like a step in the right direction. I would remind yourself that once you do get a job (and you will) that you won’t have so much free time for awhile so you should take advantage of it. I know there can be a temptation to spend every last moment job hunting, but at some point you reach the moment of diminishing returns. (Not to mention I PERSONALLY think you’ll come off as more confident in your interviews if you give yourself some relaxation time.)

    Whenever the going gets tough, I always remind myself of this quote, which I love:

    “Brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who donโ€™t want something badly enough. They are there to keep out the other people.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

