RSS Feed

My Super Personalized Ikea Desk

Posted on

I’ve been wanting a desk for awhile now. The folding dining room table just wasn’t cutting it and even though I have a laptop, I find using it on the couch fairly annoying and nonproductive. I thought having a cute desk might make job hunting and tedious applications slightly more enjoyable too.

Here’s what I used to get the job done:

  • Ikea Vika Furuskog table top: just plain ol’ 2’x4’x1″ unfinished pine
  • Ikea Vika Furuskog cabinet: also unfinished pine, and perfect for holding all those “important papers” Brent has lying around as well as some of my junk too
  • 2 Ikea Vika Curry table legs: black to go with everything
  • 2 cans of Rustoleom Lagoon satin finish spray paint
  • 1 quart high gloss pure white paint
  • 3 coats of clear gloss polyurethane
  • 3 adorable Anthropologie elephant handles: I have a thing for elephants
  • And the result of 3 weeks of on and off hard work:

    The Lagoon color is looking very blue in these photos, but it’s definitely more dark teal in real life, so yeah. Basically I’m saying that even if you think this desk looks good (which you should), it looks way cooler in person.

    The handles are totally ridiculous. I get that. I really do. But like I said, maybe some ridiculousness will make the job hunt more light-hearted, right? Plus I love them. A lot.

    I had to use more leftover contact paper to cover that ugly particle board bottom again, so even the inside of the drawers has personality.

    Brent thinks he’s going to share this desk with me, but I don’t really see that happening. It’s too “Victoria” for him. He’ll have to design his own.

    Oh, and here’s the price run-down:

  • table top: $40
  • cabinet: $80
  • legs: $7
  • handles: $24 (down from $54, which would have been even more absurd)
  • paint, polyurethane, and supplies: $25
  • For a grand total of $176. I don’t think that’s too bad for a super personalized desk that I adore. I’m so happy with the way it turned out! About half way through the project I was a little bit concerned that it was too much of a hassle to be doing this on a tarp in my tiny office, but it worked out well. Oh, and I did it all myself. I even used Brent’s power drill and assembled it alone. Maybe not that big a deal, but I’m usually lazy/wussy about these things so I was impressed with myself.

    And it’s a perfect place for blogging! 🙂

    4 responses »

    1. Love the desk. It does not look teal but the blue looks fine. You did a great job making it. Hope the job situation goes better soon. Also great to hear your parents are going to visit soon!

      Reply
    2. Awesome!!! I love it! Miss you lots, would love to meet you for a beer, 😦

      Reply
    3. you are the new queen of DIY!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

