CSA Week 2

Posted on

I’m a bit behind on sharing with you all, but I figured it would be easier just to start where I am rather than back track. Yesterday was our pick up day for our CSA and we got some new veggies!

IMG_0003

Clockwise from top left:

  • Greens, swiss chard I think
  • Pea shoots
  • Lettuce mix
  • Oregano
  • Garlic scapes
  • Tomatoes
  • Rosemary

Brent wants BLT’s with the tomatoes and lettuce. I think I might make foccacia with the rosemary. Garlic scapes are completely new to me. Anyone ever used them? I think I may use the greens in smoothies. So what would you guys make?

Unfortunately, I did not get to use the goods for dinner last night because from 5:30-9pm we were returning our phones and canceling our contract with T-Mobile because my blackberry broke! It just stopped working and wouldn’t turn back on. I was already having a few problems with my internet service on it so I just decided to cancel the contract and find a different carrier. This was easier than I was expecting and we were within the 14 day window where we could cancel with no consequences. We then scoped out new phones and carriers and ended up getting 2 iPhones from AT&T because they were the cheapest smartphone around. I guess the price was lowered on this model because Apple just announced the slightly improved version coming in August.

OK, enough about geeky tech things. I do have one meal from earlier in the week to share with you. I made this couscous salad and we had it for lunches for a few days. Brent and I really like the Israeli couscous and I was excited to find a whole wheat version at the grocery store. I enjoyed this recipe and I think I would make it again.

HPIM3496I can’t believe tomorrow is Friday! This week really flew by for me. My summer dosage calculation class started this week. I should probably get started on the assignments for that. Back tomorrow with dinner!

4 responses »

  1. Sorry about the phone drama! I’ve never heard of garlic scapes before so I’m curious to see what you’ll do with them. That couscous salad looks amazing – yum!!

    Reply
  2. No–don’t put them in green smoothies! Substitute them anywhere you would use onions, either raw or cooked.

    Reply
  3. Oops, I see you meant the greens, not the scapes in green smoothies! Makes much more sense.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Strawberry Short Stack « The Idle Loaf

Leave a comment