RSS Feed

Herbed Beer Muffins

Yep. Beer muffins. I wanted to make something to add in with our lunches and I thought beer bread might be good with some soup, but I also had a bunch of herbs, the tarragon and parsley leftover from the weekend, and some rosemary for later this week, the rest of which were likely to go unused. Brent said he wanted muffins, not a loaf, so this is what I ended up with. 🙂

hpim2895HERBED BEER MUFFINS

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 12oz beer
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Whisk all dry ingredients together.
  3. Add in beer and mix until combined.
  4. Pour into 12 muffins tins, or 1 9×5″ loaf pan.
  5. For muffins, bake approximately 15-17 minutes.

These were really good. I’m eating one as I type with a bowl of leftover tomato soup from last week. They make excellent dippers. You can use whatever herbs or cheese you want. Cheddar would be great I’m sure, as would some chives. This is just what I had on hand. Also, I broke into Brent’s stash and used a Sam Adams White Ale.

How is everyone adjusting to the reality of Monday morning? Are you one of the lucky ones that doesn’t have work today?

10 responses »

  1. Fun!!

    I still have classes today – boooooo.

    Reply
  2. oooh, those muffins do sound good! i love herby cheesy bread :-).

    i have the day off, but it’s going to be full of work and homework still!

    Reply
  3. I was supposed to be one of those lucky ones, but a partner at the law firm emailed my blackberry and I had to come in 😦

    Reply
  4. I am so unlucky today 😦

    I love the herbed part of those beer bread muffins.

    Reply
  5. Those sound great!

    Still have class with a lovely Chem exam – cherry on the sundae 😉

    Reply
  6. Those look delicious! I am so glad that I don’t have to work today, but it’s b/c its a government holiday, it b/c I’m a nurse and have random days off in the week!

    Reply
  7. Lovin’ the beer muffins! 😀

    Reply
  8. those look SO YUMMY!

    Reply
  9. Love the concept … were I to use a white beer, I might add some citrus … both juice and zest. Personally, I’d be more inclined to use a darker beer … not a criticism, just a comment … maybe some caraway, maybe some of the pickling from sauerkraut. First brush variation on a theme. I can see this as being very versatile. Thanks, Victoria.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

